Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

The Ghetto Fighters’ House Talking Memory Series presents: ‘Gross Aktion’: Remembering the Warsaw Ghetto’s Great Deportation 80 Year Later

Sunday, July 31 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm EDT

Login or Request Access to view the recording

You will be redirected to an external site to register

Register

The Ghetto Fighters’ House Talking Memory Series presents:

‘Gross Aktion’:  Remembering the Warsaw Ghetto’s Great Deportation 80 Year Later

Join us for the first program on Sunday, July 31st  

 “Before the Trains Left the Umschlagplatz”

Opening Remarks:

Prof. Hanna Yablonka

Guest Speaker:

Prof. Havi Dreifuss

“It is very difficult to live in constant terror” – Warsaw Ghetto on the Verge of Deportation and Death

This lecture will focus on the months leading up to the Great Deportation (summer 1942) and the days of the German Aktion itself. In this context, the grim reality of life in the Warsaw ghetto facing rumors of terror and mass murder will be presented.

Pinchas Gutter, Holocaust survivor, will give testimony on his childhood in the Warsaw ghetto.

2 PM EST | 7 PM GMT | 8 PM SAST | 9 PM Israel

This program is in partnership with Classrooms Without Borders, Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Center, Moreshet Holocaust & Research Center, and the Jewish Historical Institute.

 

Details

Date:
Sunday, July 31
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm EDT
Scroll to Top